With its key place in the national ideology and culture, Fudan University not only engages in knowledge creation and cultural production, it also participates widely in the dissemination of knowledge, ideology, and culture. The Fudan campus is a place where ideology and culture come together, and is also where they are diffused. Every year more than 2000 lectures, as well as almost 200 forums and academic conferences, are held at Fudan.

Over the years, listening to lectures has become a means of study and a way of living for students. This has led the campus to develop a set of “cultural coordinates,” such as the Xianghui Tang, Classroom 3108, the Xie Xide Lecture Hall, the Guanghualou Student Square, etc. It has also produced a set of lecture hallmarks, such as the yearly large-scale school anniversary lecture; the Fudan Guanghua Outstanding Scholar in the Humanities Lecture Series which is broadcast publicly on the Web, a first in the nation; the Lizhi Forum and Xingkong Forum, etc.

For information on lectures, forums, and conferences at the school, please see the cultural event calendar.

School Anniversary Science Lecture

The school anniversary science lecture is currently the school’s largest academic exchange activity. It is aimed at enhancing Fudan’s school spirit and academic traditions. This tradition began in 1954, proposed by Chen Wandgao who was then the school president. All of the school anniversary activities are centered on promoting scientific research. In 1977, this academic tradition was able to resume, and has now been held 47 times. Every year, each of the school’s academic units organizes academic reports and symposiums around the end of May based on recent events and trends in the department.  There are an estimated total of 700 to 800 academic reports. Starting in 2009, the science symposium was extended into an academic culture week, strengthening its academic influence on the students. For more information please click: Opening Ceremony of the School’s 108th Anniversary Celebration at the 47th Science Symposium and Academic Culture Week.

Shanghai Forum

Shanghai Forum, launched in 2005, is an international economic forum hosted by Fudan University and sponsored by Korea Foundation for Advanced Studies. After eight years of successful operation, "Shanghai Forum" has become one of the most important academic forums in China. More than 2800 guests from political, academic and business sectors have attended the Forum during the past. Under the background of economic globalization, the Forum takes its mission as “Concentrating on Asia, Focusing on Hot Issues, Congregating Elites, Promoting Interactions, Enhancing Cooperation and Seeking Consensus”. It endeavors to build a platform for communication among academic, political and commercial circles by inviting leaders and elites of all fields to co-operation and dialogue, so as to provide perspectives and advices for Asia’s overall economic, political, social and cultural progress. The Shanghai Forum 2013 was concluded in the May of 2013 with the theme of Asia’s Wisdom: Seeking Harmonious Development in Diversity.

Fudan Guanghua Eminent Scholar Lectureship

In year 2011, with joint effort of Kwang-Hua Education Foundation and Fudan University, Fudan Humanity Fund was established to sponsor development of humanity disciplines. High-end visiting scholar programs are among the key programs by the Fudan. To facilitate communication between Chinese civilization and the world, Fudan Humanity Fund sponsors annually 4 to 6 eminent scholars from overseas to host series lectures. Please refer to Fudan Guanghua Eminent Scholar Lectureship for details.

作为全国思想文化重镇,复旦大学不仅进行知识生产和文化创新,也广泛参与知识、思想和文化的传播。复旦的校园是思想文化的汇聚之地,也是扩散之地。每年,在复旦举行的讲座超过2000场、论坛和学术会议近200个。

年复一年,“听讲座”已经成为学生们的学习渠道和生活方式。校园里由此而产生了一批文化地标,如相辉堂、3108教室,如谢希德演讲厅、光华楼学生广场等等;也产生了一批讲座品牌,如每年最大规模的校庆科学报告会、在全国率先以网络公开课方式推广的复旦光华杰出人文学者系列讲座,如励志讲坛、星空讲坛等等。

校内相关讲座、论坛和会议信息,可查询文化日历

校庆科学报告会

校庆科学报告会是学校目前最大规模的学术交流活动,旨在弘扬复旦的精神和学术传统。这一传统肇始于1954年,时任校长的陈望道提出,校庆种种活动,以促进科学研究为中心。在1977年,这一学术传统得以重新恢复,至今已经举办47届。每年,全校所有学术单位都会在5月下旬按学科方向组织若干场学术报告和讨论会。期间,全校学术报告估计在700—800个。从2009年开始,科学报告会延展为学术文化周,强化了对学生的学术熏陶。详请点击:复旦110周年校庆科学报告会暨学术文化周开幕

上海论坛

上海论坛是由复旦大学主办、韩国高等教育财团赞助的国际经济论坛,发起于2005年。迄今为止,上海论坛已成功举办八届,成长为国内知名的年度综合性国际学术论坛。八年来,共有海内外政、商、学界精英领袖逾2800人次出席。论坛始终以“关注亚洲、聚焦热点、荟萃精英、推进互动、增强合作、谋求共识”为宗旨,通过年会搭建学界、政界、商界三方交流互动的平台,在集思广益的基础上为亚洲经济、政治、社会和文化的全面进步提出发展建议和决策参考。2013年5月,论坛的主题为“亚洲智慧:在多元中寻求和谐发展”。

复旦光华杰出人文学者系列讲座

2011年,复旦大学与台湾光华教育基金会共同出资成立“复旦人文基金”,重点扶持人文学科发展。高端学者访问资助是基金重点支持的项目。为吸引人文学科高端学者乃至学术大师的国际访问,加强中华文明与世界文明的交流与沟通,基金特别支持每年从全球遴选4-6位人文领域的高端学者来校讲学。讲学期间,每人将在校内作4-5次系列公开讲座,是为“光华杰出人文学者系列讲座”。详请点击:光华杰出人文学者系列讲座首讲——王汎森:执拗的低音