Fudan Alumnus Shen Zhixun elected into American Academy of Arts and Sciences

American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced its election of 2017 new members on April 12th. Shen Zhixun, consultant professor and 1979 alumnus of Department of Physics was elected.
Dr. Shen received his B.S. degree from Department of Fudan. He is a PAUL PIGOTT professor in physical sciences and full professor at Department of Physics and Applied Physics at Stanford University. On April 29, 2015, he was elected into National Academy of Sciences. He is chief scientist at SLAC (at the Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource, SSRL), and since 2006 he is the founding director of the Stanford Institute for Materials and Energy Sciences.

Dr. Shen has made many pioneering works in condensed matter physics and complex materials. He is recognized as a leading scientist in condensed matter physics. Dr. Shen's work has been acknowledged by important awards, including the Centennial Lecture of the American Physical Society, the Kamerlingh Onne Prize, the E.O. Lawrence Award, the Oliver E. Buckley Prize, Einstein Professorship (Chinese Academy of Sciences), Oliver Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize, American Physical Society (2011), and Einstein Professorship (Chinese Academy of Sciences (2013)).

Fudan President Xu Ningsheng congratulated Dr. Shen on his achievement. Dr. Shen expressed his gratefulness to his alma mater and remarked, “I am very proud of being a member of Department of Physics since 1979. I am very lucky. The friendship in the schooldays at Fudan is very precious to me.”

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the country’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, convening leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to respond to the challenges facing the nation and the world. The election of 228 new members include 40 foreign members. Chen Lezong, Director of the University Board, and Chen Qizong, member of the International Advisory Committee, School of Management, were elected into 2017 members as well.